Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

TV

with 2 comments

“For God says, ‘At just the right time, I heard you. On the day of salvation, I helped you'” (2 Cor 6:1-2. NLT).

I am a movie freak, period. The reason is simple. when I watch, I forget everything and blend in the story. And I love to be able to forget everything even just for hours.

TV

However, I rarely watch TV. This is simply because I do not have my own personal TV on my room. My Dad has one, my brother and his family have one, and even my embaks, they have one (my dad bought one for them). So basically I am the only one who is without TV, TVless. Being a movie freak, this condition is far from being ideal. I hate being TVless. I hate when people are talking about Indonesian Idol or OVJ. But what I hate the most is when people start talking about cable show, ESPECIALLY when people start talking about cable TV.

I once shared this with a friend of mine. She just answered me plainly “bought one? solved”. Sighing, I cannot argue her that that must be the best solution for my TVless condition. But here is the thing, I cannot trust my self alone with TV. I cannot trust my self alone with cable TV. Have you any idea on what will happen if you leave me alone with cable TV? [continue reading…]

Months ago, I tested my self. Umm…maybe it will be more proper if I say that I have the chance to test my self. Months ago, my sister needed my help with her store. She just simply said that “you can sleep in my room. The room is air conditioned and there is a cable TV there.” Without further bargain, I said yes. And that night, I end up sleepless, watching CSI over and over again in her room. I cannot imagine what will I be with a TV on my room.

Now, here’s the thing. My brother just bought a new TV for his preparation welcoming the world cup 2010. Yes, you read it right. He bought a new TV to watch World Cup 2010 later in June. Anyway, kindly, he lent me his old TV. So, now, as I am typing this blog, I am listening to the TV. Yes, it’s still about politics, rain, traffic jam, disaster and demo. I know, it will be very useful and helpful for me, especially for the coming days. I am sure that it can help me to release my tensed nerves. But, aside from the positive and happy things, I am afraid that I might… ah…never mind. Let’s just hope that I can close my eyes enough to live.

Written by vallaura

March 1, 2010 at 2:04 PM

Posted in Me, Object

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s embaks and OVJ?

    Like

    Relentless

    March 1, 2010 at 2:58 PM

  2. Hi there,

    Embak (s for plural) is Javanese term for people who work at your house cleaning the house, do the laundry and cook some meals. You might be familiar with terms such as house maid or cleaner.

    While OVJ is a TV show in my country, it stands for Opera Van Java.

    Thanks for reading.

    Like

    vallaura

    March 2, 2010 at 1:16 AM


Leave a Reply

