Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

Kuala Lumpur 2010

with 2 comments

Last month I had the opportunity to visit Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and its surroundings cities like Petaling, Cheras, Ampang etc. It was not a holiday, I must say. I went there to attend a conference. The schedule was so tight, I didn’t even has the chance to get a photo with the twin. (this is taken from google.com)

The shadow of Petronas Twin Towers

It was not a really perfect timing to visit this neighbor country, one of the reasons was because my country was having an escalated politics issue with this country. The locals even warned me to stay in the hotel and not wander around the city. My brother text me asking me how I was doing simply because the atmosphere was getting hotter between these two countries. Luckily and praise God, I was able to walk here and there trying their LRT and buses and taxis. They turned out to be very comfortable.

One thing that I wanted to share here, with you readers, if you are my fellow Indonesian, is the fact this country is getting better and better and leaving our country even left behind. This fact is actually made me furious.

Taman Pudu Ulu

I still remember elders saying that years ago the Malaysian people learned from our country. They took and hired some Indonesian people to be their teacher, mentor, tutor, whatever you name them. But now, I can see with my own eyes how they can have a prosper life, away from traffic jam, train congestion, and even trash! Well, I am not saying that they are better than us in the whole sense. But in the eyes of visiting tourist, they are better! When I am planning to go to this city, people said that KL (short for Kuala Lumpur) is just the same like Jakarta, dry and hot. Well, in the sense of climate they are the same. But look further to what build a city a city. One thing that shocked me more is the fact that they are going to implement one ticket for three means of transportation, LRT, Monorail and bus. I stunned for a while while reading the ad in a very clean and comfortable LRT compartment. And thought, It is just like EZ-Link card that the
Singaporean have. wow. then screamed inmy head HOW COULD THESE PEOPLE IMPLEMENT TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM THAT THE SINGAPOREAN USES AND WE, INDONESIAN, ARE STILL THINKING ON HAVE TO HAVE A TRAIN THAT HAS ITS DOOR CLOSED??

Chinatown

I addressed this issue to my fellow companion at the first time this thought flashed. She just smiled. And I just held my breath. Yup, we both knew that the corruption problem in our country that caused all of these. So many egoistic, selfish and greed people in this country. Instead of thinking the country, they stole the money for their own benefits. shame on you, corrupter! Now, people can only sighed and hope there can be miracle happen in our country. we just hope people are starting to be content with their lives and stop stealing money again.

I hope and I will also try to do my talk. Rise, for a better Indonesia, a beautiful Indonesia!

Written by vallaura

September 4, 2010 at 9:50 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oleh2 AFMC ya? Gimana acaranya? Sedih ga bisa ikut (jalan-jalan ke KL) 😦

    Like

    Herfina

    October 10, 2010 at 6:52 PM

    • yeah… sedikit oleh2nya, banyaknya gak boleh di share di internet, you know lah…. 3 years from now antara di Jepang or Kamboja loohhh, ikut? 😉

      Like

      vallaura

      October 10, 2010 at 7:02 PM


Leave a Reply

