Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

Flying with broken wings

with 2 comments

…. I’m building another dream…. Even though I realize that I might not afford it…..

If you are a close friend of mine or simply a devoted reader of my blog, you will know that my life’s journey is somewhere far from perfect. But that’s okay. One’s life does not need to be perfect to be wonderful.

Few months back, I hesitantly decided to enroll into a Math course, something that I never thought before. Even until now, if I tried to think back, I still could not figure out the reason that made me decide it. It’s June now. And I am half way done with the course. In fact, I had finished all the lecturer-based course this week. And to my surprised, I hate to end the course.

The course in itself is fantastic. It was a combination of great teacher, friendly classmates, heaps of food and my thirst of new things. I know that I’m not good at Math and my experience is nothing compared to my classmates which are of course my fellow teachers. But the course is not intimidating that I can enjoy it very much. If you are living in Jakarta and love to teach young kids, I recommend this course very very much. But aside from all those positive things any course would give. I also experience some things beyond that.

 In this course, Dr. Yeap kindly shared with us his experience teaching around the globe. He brought us to Amsterdam, where we can see how language in Math is universal. Communication skill is more than essential, especial for teachers. He also pointed to us some differences that Eastern and Western culture hold. It is so interesting, you know, how we are actually so different from each other but we always think that we know them, we understand them, and that we mostly think that we are no different. The fact is, Eastern people and Western people are different. And if I want to be able to teach in internationally, I need to really know these differences.

Unnecessary words, additional comments, shout outs are things in class that challenge my conscience. Hence they are also what I called beyond regular lessons. … as I think through, I could not figure out how to write down all the “extra” lessons that I learned from this course. Simply because when I put them into words they became meaningless without its original context. Take for example “it’s not a free world after all”. You will not know the meaning entirely without understanding the whole context where it was said. And explaining the whole context will make corrosion of the essence it was given at first.

What’s more than above is the sense it gives. Knowledge gives power. Knowledge IS power. “With the knowledge we have, we are no longer in anybody’s mercy”. Throughout the course not only I was empowered with the knowledge but also I was empowered with hopes, dreams and future. It is as if some windows are opened. Some fresh air blown. New dreams fly me up to a future that not yet been discovered. The widen horizons bring a feeling that is free up some space in heart, mind and soul.

I’m halfway done and I am planning to end it beautifully. I will make my teacher proud. I know that I had experienced broken hopes. But I refuse to give up. I will try again. I will try to fly again, even with broken wings.

Thanks teacher. Thanks God.

 

 

Written by vallaura

June 18, 2011 at 8:06 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you have found the “sweet perfection in this perfecct imperfection”Keep writing and help others find theirs.I know Ive found mine.thanks for sharing your thoughts with the world.

    Like

    Mr.Tod A.Parker

    June 19, 2011 at 8:04 PM

    • “sweet perfection that we are able to find in this in this perfect imperfection … and allow “thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven”.” That’s a great line! Finding it is one thing. Accepting it is another thing. Living it… totally takes a mature character and dependence on God. Thanks for bringing it up. 🙂

      Like

      vallaura

      June 19, 2011 at 8:46 PM


Leave a Reply

