Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

To agree to disagree on red velvet cake

leave a comment »

“Life’s all about moments of impact and how they change our lives forever. But what if one day you could no longer remember any of them?”

I guess this is my first movie in this year. And I am very lucky to have this movie played in my country. I watched it with my friend and I did not have any expectation. In fact, I was not expecting a good movie. I kinda recognize the actress, but I cannot grab it from my memory.

It was The Vow. Have you watch it?

It was actually a true life inspired movie. A type of movie that I always avoid. Why? well, simply because my life is complicated enough without trying to understand other people’s lives. But this time I spare my own illogical reasons for the sake of  my friend who was asking for movie. And as I recall, I had not been in a theater for quite some time. And between other movies played, it seemed a good movie to watch.

And it was.

In fact, I love it with all my being. I will remember this movie with all my soul.

Leo and Paige, husband and wife who experienced a car accident where Paige had to suffer partial memory loss, the memory which Leo existed. The movie went on with some ups and downs of this couple in gaining their marriage life back. mmhh… Leo was gaining his love, and life, back. While Paige… eventually.

There was a scene where Leo finally gave up. Because that was the only reasonable thing he could do. And in that scene he was doing the only thing he can do, playing music.

I love this scene so much. Not because of the music. Not because of a good shot of well built actor. No. It’s because I see love displayed there. A lot of movie put love in their movie. But only some displayed love. And for a movie that can displayed a pure form of love, however hollywood that movie is, it is a movie to remember. It is a movie, I will remember.

I kept on holding on to hollywood typical ending all through the movie. And it took my breath away when it did not ended as I expected. I guessed this is the beauty of a real life inspired movie. Paige did not regain her lost memory all through her life. Holding on to the vow they made, they kept to love each other. And they found their way back to each other, always.

……

It does not happen in my life. And my friend said, it also does not happen in other people’s life. That’s why the fact that it was a real life inspired movie made it beautiful.

Love does exist.

And when we vow to love each other, no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find a way back to each other. Happy Love Day.

Written by vallaura

February 16, 2012 at 10:59 PM

Posted in Me, movie, Opinion

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

