Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

The Power of a Name

with 4 comments

I was sitting nicely, getting ready to hear a Sunday sermon from my second favorite speaker in my church, Mr. MW. I had given up my hope in listening to my favorite speaker John Doe since so many weeks ago. Apparently he was so busy to tend his flock. But he has always seen in the church that assure me he has been making sure someone is still feeding us with good Bible teaching.

Just like that Sunday. After my Sunday school class, I was getting ready for the second service when I caught him in the middle of a conversation with some bunch of people. It somehow calmed me down to know that he was in town. I whispered to myself, one day he will be back on the pulpit, chillax girl. So, I did. I relaxed. I took a glass of cold water and stepped into sanctuary, took a weekly bulletin and sat at my regular seat.

Then I realized it was written on the bulletin that John Doe will be on the pulpit next week!

Alright, you might not know how I felt. Well, let me tell you. I felt amazing. It’s like getting a shot of adrenaline for a weak person. or getting a shot of insulin for diabetes person. It really felt amazing. There was a power behind a name. Because at that instant, I felt as if I was about to hear him speaking  that day. And through out the week, I felt enthusiast to welcome the coming Sunday. Indeed there is a power behind a name. And if a name of John Doe can showcase that power, imagine what Jesus can show you?

Yes. There is a power behind a name.

And that name is, of course, solely, Jesus.

Written by vallaura

March 18, 2012 at 10:48 PM

Posted in Me, People

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As always, a nice twist at the end of your good writing!

    Like

    Tri

    March 19, 2012 at 10:26 AM

  2. agama mu kristen tuh ngajarin apa sih, nyembah kyai atau nabi isa atau bule , atau opo toh?

    Like

    pranoyo

    January 5, 2013 at 9:19 PM

    • I suggest you get a Holy Bible, read it and find out by yourself 🙂 Thanks for visiting sir.

      Like

      vallaura

      January 5, 2013 at 11:52 PM

      • udah jelas tuh dari tulisannya, nyembah bule . Ojo bule bule an toh nduk, ojo malu maluin Nabi mu.

        Like

        pranoyo

        January 22, 2013 at 10:38 PM


Leave a Reply

