Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

down the via dolorosa, my God…

leave a comment »

It was my hand that did the sin. Then it was Jesus’ hands that were nailed.

It was my my mind that thought of sinful desires. Yet it was Jesus’ head that was crowned thorn.

It was my feet that walk to sinful place. And it was Jesus’ feet that were pierced to the cross.

 

I remember teaching one of my Faith Builder class for Primary 1 students. They were doing their work on their textbook when one of the boys shouted in horror telling me that his other classmate said to him that Jesus is dead. I paused. I was walking around supervising their work. Plainly, I said. Yes, he is dead. They stunned. I saw some even held their breath waiting for me to say kidding. I continued, he WAS dead. Not the sentence they were expecting, I guess. Because I see some eye pupils grew bigger. And there me, between finishing my curriculum or teaching them the entire Christianity doctrine. So, I called their attention. I don’t know how I did it. In essence, I said He was dead but then he arose from death. Why he must die? Because we sinned. He did not want us to have eternal death. So, he saved us. He brought us eternal life. There was a long long pause of confusion. So I said, Jesus cannot be human forever, because then he had to be in one place only. So he had to die and showed himself as God, so he can be where ever he wants to be. Some were nodding. Some were lost. I whispered a short prayer, letting the Holy Spirit would guide them.

Oh, child, I cannot even grasp the secret lied on his sacrifice. It is overwhelming. God who created the galaxies willing to go down to give us another chance, an option, a free will option, whether we choose him over sin, and be with him over sin. … after all I have done. That day I was telling you my faith that I hope to be yours. Today I am confessing my faith. But I will never know what lies ahead. I pray I will keep on pressing on my faith to Him. And this Good Friday, let us remember…

Down the Vía Dolorosa in Jerusalem that day
The soldiers tried to clear the narrow street
But the crowd pressed in to see
The Man condemned to die on Calvary

He was bleeding from a beating, there were stripes upon His back
And He wore a crown of thorns upon His head
And He bore with every step
The scorn of those who cried out for His death

Down the Vía Dolorosa called the way of suffering
Like a lamb came the Messiah, Christ the King,
But He chose to walk that road out of
His love for you and me.
Down the Via Dolorosa, all the way to Calvary.

All the way to calvary.

All the way to save me.

All the way to save YOU and me.

… down the via dolorosa, my God.

Written by vallaura

April 6, 2012 at 10:02 PM

Leave a Reply

