Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

Bakwan Jagung

leave a comment »

This post is a contender of Tastemade Indonesia‘s post that I saw few days ago. When I saw it, I was like… “wth. they made a video tutorial of how to make bakwan jagung!” I felt that I should also disperse my own version of bakwan jagung. Sadly not in form of video, but yeah… I hope it’s good enough.

In my own definition and free translation, bakwan jagung is a savory corn fritter. Indonesians usually eat it for snacks (in between meal time) or as a side dish in meal. It also has other variant such as vegetable fritter and shrimp fritter. Basically, if you could make one type, you could also make the others.

For my version, these are the ingredients:

  • 100-200 ounces of Corn (frozen or peeled from corncob)
  • 3 small Carrots (shredded)
  • 1/4 of onion (small size, chopped)
  • 3-4 garlic cloves (crushed finely)
  • 4-5 table spoons of flour
  • 5 pieces of lemon leaves (cut very finely, use scissors is easier)
  • 2 chillies (chopped finely)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 or less glass of water
  • 2 pinches of White Pepper
  • half of a teaspoon of Salt
  • Vegetable oil

And this is how you make it:

  1. Mixed everything, except for vegetable oil, that’s for frying. 😉 Just a little tips, I am usually careful with flour and water. Sometimes different brand of flour needs more or less water. So, I just adjust those two accordingly instead of just mixing them together. Also, I will get a tiny drop of taste before I put the egg on it. Just to make sure, it has enough salt and pepper.
  2. Fry them up into small circles in a boiling hot vegetable oil, 1 min each side.
  3. Enjoy. Piece a cake, isn’t it!

    Leave a Reply

