Vallaura's Blog

"Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted."

Mt. Bromo at Lebaran Holiday 2010

with 3 comments

[Phewww… Holiday almost over now, it’s time to spend some little time to write.]

How are you all doing? Hope the 2-week break gives you a fresh mind as the work will start in no more than two days left. I had the opportunity to enjoy a splendid holiday if i may say. Most of my friends are well taken care ;p as in I manage to set some time for most of them. Let me recount, PAKJers (checked), KTB UKI (checked), KTB Sahabat (checked), Sec Sch friends (checked), SFers (checked), family (Lusi’s, Yos’, and Daniel’s, all checked)..yep that’s about all. so happy to have a very productive holiday 😀

I also went to Malang. It’s a small city in suburb of East Java, Indonesia. I went there to visit the famous mountain, Mount Bromo (and all the mountain range, Mt. Bromo, Mt. Batok and Mt. Semeru)

at Mt. Bromo, East Java-Indonesia

at Mt. Bromo, East Java-Indonesia

That was my first experience visiting the mountain. And a comeback for a mountain hike 🙂

The temperature was so low. It was literally freezing for me. People spent lots of money and were willing to get up at 3AM to go up to see the sunrise. The sunrise itself was very magnificent. I was contemplating while waiting for the Sun to rise. It was so cold that we weren’t just waiting to see the beauty, but also the warmth that it brings.

Sunrise at Mt. Bromo seen from viewpoint

Sunrise at Mt. Bromo seen from viewpoint

I was then remembered CS. Lewis line: “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen-not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” Yes, it is indeed true. And in this very moment i grasped the truth within me, soaking the meaning in my head. Then we continued the journey to what so called “Padang Pasir Gunung Bromo”, we might say it as Mt. Bromo desert. The sand, some say will change its color depending on what season you went there. The color when I was there was dark gray. The local people there said that on summer time (which i don’t know when) the sand will turn into golden yellow, and when winds blow them up, it will make noise as if they whisper to your ear.

A temple on the dessert of Mt. Bromo

A temple on the dessert of Mt. Bromo

A very famous Indonesian artist took some film shoot here, and entitled the movie “Pasir Berbisik” or in English “Whispering Sand”. You can actually take a pony ride there, but i just couldn’t. By foot you can walk and climb some stairs to get to see the crater if Mt. Bromo. It was a very nice experience especially when you can see the whole mountain range surrounds you when you climb these stairs.

The crater of Mt. Bromo

The crater of Mt. Bromo

The view is marvelous but the smell is completely another thing. The sulfuric odor will suffocate you, especially after those “millions” stairs. I just took a picture of the crater and headed down to get some refreshments 🙂 After a last glance of the great and unforgettable view, we headed home because the next day will be another journey, Balekambang beach. Beach is another story…playing with waves, sand and salty water has their own charm. just love the nature so much!! It made me want to go to Bali in an instance 🙂

Oh well, enough for today, more story to come, hopefully with more spirit to write them all 🙂 enjoy your holiday friends. It’s God giving gift for you all who had worked hard for Him.

Written by vallaura

September 19, 2010 at 2:20 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, very interesting post, greetings from Greece!

    Like

    inadiachica

    December 7, 2010 at 11:24 PM

  2. wow. Greece. there are a lot of interesting places there 🙂 Hope you are well..

    Like

    vallaura

    December 12, 2010 at 10:23 PM

  3. […] I just to be in a room with 16 degrees celcius. But never below that. Oh wait, I have been to Mount Bromo. It was a place with the lowest temperature for me. But I did not know how low it was. But […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

